Parameter guide
Access parameters
This page isolates the access group used in the index: airport distance, city distance, public transport, parking and opening hours. A field is only filled where a venue, regulator or marked secondary source publishes it. Missing values are shown as not published and are treated as a transparency issue in the scoring method.

data-art illustration, not a photograph
index / Parameters / Access
| House | Airport distance | City distance | Transport stop | Parking | Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crown Melbourne | Melbourne Airport “approximately 22 kilometres” northwest of Melbourne city centre, secondary | “less than a five-minute walk to Flinders St Station” | Flinders Street Station (walk) | “two major car parks with over 5,000 spaces”; valet fee applies for hotel guests; hourly public rates not printed | “Open 24 hours a day, seven days a week”; holiday closures published |
| Crown Perth | Perth Airport “approximately 10 km” east of Perth CBD, secondary | Burswood “3 km” from Perth CBD, secondary | Burswood train station; complimentary shuttle bus; taxi rank at Riverside Entrance | “over 4,000 bays available 24/7”; free, paid and valet parking published | “Open 24 hours a day, seven days a week”; holiday closures published |
| Crown Sydney | Sydney Airport “9 kilometres” south of Sydney CBD; rail network connection, secondary | “Located in the heart of Barangaroo” | Bus map image; Wynyard Station and ferries by medium-confidence Barangaroo source; Crown Limousine for members | Valet and casual parking daily fees apply; height and member restrictions published | Casino Mon–Thu 10am–4am; Fri 10am–6am; Sat 10am–6am; Sun 10am–4am |
| The Star Gold Coast | Gold Coast Airport at Bilinga; distance to Broadbeach not stated, secondary | Gold Coast about 66 km / 71.4 km SSE of Brisbane CBD, secondary | not published | not published | not published |
| The Star Brisbane | not published | CBD (William Street), medium confidence | Roma Street, Central and South Brisbane stations; Uptown bus hub; North Quay ferry; Bicentennial Bikeway | The Star Brisbane car park open 24/7 subject to availability; rates published but not copied | “operates 24/7”; short closures on Good Friday, ANZAC Day and Christmas Day |
| Wrest Point | Hobart Airport “17 km” north-east of Hobart CBD, secondary | Sandy Bay immediately south of Hobart CBD, secondary | not published | “Free visitor parking” / “free parking for all guests” | Tables, machines, TASkeno, TAB and Casino Bar hours published by area |
| Country Club Tasmania | Launceston Airport “15 kilometres from Launceston city centre”, secondary | Prospect Vale “about 7 kilometres” south-west of Launceston, secondary | not published | “ample free parking on site”; villas parking by door | Main Casino, Watergarden Gaming, TASkeno and TAB hours published |
| Mindil Beach Casino Resort | Darwin International Airport “8 km” from Darwin city centre, secondary | Mindil Beach near Darwin CBD, secondary | not published | “Free On-Site Parking”; VIP parking for Lucky North Club members | Gaming machines Monday–Sunday 8am–4am; table hours not printed |
| Reef Hotel Casino | “About 10 minutes from Cairns Airport”; Cairns Airport “7 kilometres” north of Cairns CBD | Cairns city centre (Wharf Street) | not published | On-site “Car park”; rates not stated | Casino daily 10am–4am; Anzac Day from 1pm; Good Friday and Christmas Day closed |
| The Ville | Townsville Airport “2 nautical miles” west of Townsville CBD, secondary | “350 kilometres south of Cairns and 260 kilometres north of the Whitsundays” | not published | Complimentary outdoor parking; valet service available | Casino Sun–Thu 9am–4am; Fri–Sat 9am–5am; holiday closures published; front desk 24 h |
How the access group is read
The access group sits within the wider method and weights as one of five scoring groups. It does not estimate trip times, taxi fares or route choices. It records whether a reader can verify practical arrival and operating details from published material.
Airport distance is used only when the FACTS source gives a distance or a defensible published proxy, such as the airport’s distance from the central business district. Where the venue does not publish a property-to-airport distance, the table states the published source basis. For example, Reef Hotel Casino publishes “About 10 minutes from Cairns Airport”, while several entries rely on secondary airport-to-CBD distances rather than a hotel-specific figure.
City distance is handled the same way. Some venues publish a direct city-centre position, such as “CBD (William Street)” for The Star Brisbane or “Cairns city centre (Wharf Street)” for Reef Hotel Casino. Others have only secondary settlement distances, such as Burswood “3 km” from Perth CBD or Prospect Vale “about 7 kilometres” from Launceston.
Transport stop records named rail, ferry, bus, bridge, shuttle or walking access only when published. If a venue does not publish a stop or the FACTS block has no reliable transport detail, the cell is not published. Parking records whether the venue publishes car parking, valet or rate information. Opening hours records casino or gaming-floor hours, not hotel reception hours unless that is the only published access-relevant figure.
Access table
The table below is a condensed access extract. For the full 30 fields across the same ten houses, use the 30-parameter table. For the effect on totals, compare scores by group.
| House | Airport distance | City distance | Transport stop | Parking | Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crown Melbourne | Melbourne Airport “approximately 22 kilometres” northwest of Melbourne city centre, secondary | “less than a five-minute walk to Flinders St Station” | Flinders Street Station walk | “two major car parks with over 5,000 spaces”; valet fee applies for hotel guests; hourly public rates not printed | “Open 24 hours a day, seven days a week”; holiday closures published |
| Crown Perth | Perth Airport “approximately 10 km” east of Perth CBD, secondary | Burswood “3 km” from Perth CBD, secondary | Burswood train station; complimentary shuttle; taxi rank at Riverside Entrance | “over 4,000 bays available 24/7”; free, paid and valet parking published | “Open 24 hours a day, seven days a week”; holiday closures published, with one Good Friday inconsistency |
| Crown Sydney | Sydney Airport “9 kilometres” south of Sydney CBD; Crown says rail network connection, secondary | “Located in the heart of Barangaroo” | Bus map image; Wynyard Station and ferries by medium-confidence Barangaroo source; Crown Limousine for members | Valet and casual parking daily fees apply; height and member restrictions published | Casino Mon–Thu 10am–4am; Fri–Sat 10am–6am; Sun 10am–4am |
| The Star Gold Coast | Gold Coast Airport at Bilinga; distance to Broadbeach not stated, secondary | Gold Coast about 66 km / 71.4 km SSE of Brisbane CBD, secondary | not published | not published | not published |
| The Star Brisbane | not published | CBD (William Street), medium confidence | Roma Street, Central and South Brisbane stations; Uptown bus hub; North Quay ferry; Bicentennial Bikeway | The Star Brisbane car park open 24/7 subject to availability; rates published but not copied | “operates 24/7”; short closures on Good Friday, ANZAC Day and Christmas Day |
| Wrest Point | Hobart Airport “17 km” north-east of Hobart CBD, secondary | Sandy Bay immediately south of Hobart CBD, secondary | not published | “Free visitor parking” / “free parking for all guests” | Tables, machines, TASkeno, TAB and Casino Bar hours published by area |
| Country Club Tasmania | Launceston Airport “15 kilometres from Launceston city centre”, secondary | Prospect Vale “about 7 kilometres” south-west of Launceston, secondary | not published | “ample free parking on site”; villas parking by door | Main Casino, Watergarden Gaming, TASkeno and TAB hours published |
| Mindil Beach Casino Resort | Darwin International Airport “8 km” from Darwin city centre, secondary | Mindil Beach near Darwin CBD, secondary | not published | “Free On-Site Parking”; VIP parking for Lucky North Club members | Gaming machines Monday–Sunday 8am–4am; table hours not printed |
| Reef Hotel Casino | “About 10 minutes from Cairns Airport”; Cairns Airport “7 kilometres” north of Cairns CBD | Cairns city centre (Wharf Street) | not published | On-site “Car park”; rates not stated | Casino daily 10am–4am; Anzac Day from 1pm; Good Friday and Christmas Day closed |
| The Ville | Townsville Airport “2 nautical miles” west of Townsville CBD, secondary | “350 kilometres south of Cairns and 260 kilometres north of the Whitsundays” | not published | Complimentary outdoor parking; valet service available | Casino Sun–Thu 9am–4am; Fri–Sat 9am–5am; holiday closures published; front desk 24 h |
What is not inferred
Several access fields are deliberately blank or narrow. A named address is not converted into a transport score unless the FACTS block contains a published transport stop or route. A city-centre address is not treated as an airport distance. A car park mention is not converted into a price unless the rate itself is published in the FACTS block.
This matters most for venues where public transport and hours are incomplete. The Star Gold Coast has secondary airport and city context, but no published public-transport, parking or casino-hours field in the supplied facts. The Star Brisbane has stronger access publication, including train, bus, ferry, cycling and car-park details, but its airport distance remains not published.
Opening hours also vary in detail. Crown Melbourne and Crown Perth publish 24-hour casino operation plus holiday closures. Tasmanian venues publish separate hours for tables, machines and other gaming areas. Crown Sydney publishes daily casino hours by weekday. The Ville publishes casino and holiday hours, and separately says the front desk is 24 h.
Access scoring is therefore not a travel recommendation. It is a record of what a reader can check before comparing all ten profiles or moving to hotel, leisure, dining and entertainment, and transparency pages.