Skip to content
casino_hotel_index.auQuery

TAS profile

Wrest Point, Hobart

Wrest Point is the Sandy Bay entry in this index. The profile records only published parameters from the roster sheet: accommodation wings, food and drink listings, event capacities, parking, waterfront position, casino hours and transparency gaps. Missing items stay marked as not published rather than estimated.

Query the index Open the full table

Wrest Point, Hobart

data-art illustration, not a photograph

index / Houses / Wrest Point

row 04 Open the hotel's site Query this house

Group scores

  • Hotel /2519Room categories are well listed, but total rooms are secondary and check-in, check-out and pets are not published.
  • Leisure /2016Indoor heated pool, fitness centre and waterfront are published; spa or sauna relies on Discover Tasmania and no named spa is listed.
  • Dining and entertainment /2017Five restaurants, four bars and detailed event capacities are published, including Tasman Room and Showroom figures.
  • Access /2012Free parking and address are published, while airport and city context are secondary and public transport is not published.
  • Transparency /1512Many venue, dining and hours fields are published, but room total, transport, pets and check-in fields remain blank.

Published position in the index

Wrest Point is assessed as one physical casino hotel in Tasmania. It appears in the same roster as the other nine profiles, including Country Club Tasmania, and is scored under the same five group weights described in method and weights.

The venue’s own material publishes several useful hotel and conference facts: the River Derwent foreshore setting, the three accommodation areas, room categories, an indoor heated pool, fitness centre, accessible Tower room wording, free parking and detailed gaming-floor hours. It also publishes event-room capacities for the Tasman Room and The Showroom.

The main transparency deductions are also straightforward. The official site does not print a total room count; the 269-room figure is from Wikipedia and is treated as secondary. Public transport, check-in and check-out times, pet policy and a fuller loyalty-programme explanation are not published in the roster facts. The operator wording is medium confidence because the site links Federal Group gift cards and secondary sources identify Federal Group as owner or licence holder.

For comparison rather than booking advice, the full cross-property data is in the 30-parameter table, and the weighted totals are listed on scores by group.

Hotel and leisure parameters

The accommodation is listed as Wrest Point across the Tower, Water Edge or Riviera wing, and Motor Inn. The roster records 269 rooms by secondary source, with an explicit note that a third-party listing says 259 and that the official site does not print a total. For the index table, that makes the room-count cell secondary rather than venue-published.

Published room categories are detailed. The Tower is described as 4.5-star and includes Harbour Suite, Deluxe Harbour King, Deluxe Harbour Twin, Deluxe Accessible King, Deluxe Mountain King and Deluxe Mountain Twin. The Water Edge or Riviera wing is listed as 4-star with Water Edge King and Water Edge Twin. The Motor Inn is listed as 3.5-star with Motor Inn Room. The Tower note says “Tasmania’s tallest building” on the official site; the 17 levels and approximate 64 m height are secondary.

Leisure facts are narrower but usable. Wrest Point publishes an “indoor heated pool” and “Fitness Centre”. Spa or sauna is listed through Discover Tasmania with medium confidence; no named day spa is published in the facts. Waterfront is published as River Derwent foreshore, Sandy Bay. No golf parameter applies to this property in the roster.

Dining, events and casino floor facts

The published dining list contains five venues: The Point Revolving Restaurant, Longhorn Smokehouse, Boardwalk Café, Kwan Ho and Boardwalk Bistro. Kwan Ho is the only listing in the facts with cuisines named: Sichuan, Shanghainese and Cantonese. The Point Revolving Restaurant is described as “17 floors above the River Derwent”.

Published bars are Birdcage Bar, The Green Room Bar, Casino Bar and Boardwalk Bar. The facts note Birdcage Bar “since 1973”, The Green Room Bar as “Fri & Sat 5pm til late”, and Boardwalk Bar with app-based TAB. No overall bar count beyond the listed names is estimated.

Wrest Point publishes stronger event parameters than several smaller venues in the index. The Showroom is listed for up to 330 guests, with table values of theatre 331, cocktail 250, 447 m² and tiered floor. The Tasman Room is 691 m² and has published capacities: theatre 1,000, rounds 540, cocktail 800, cabaret 320 and classroom 300. Combined with Plenary Hall, the facts say theatre-style seating for up to 1650 guests. Eleven venues are named: Tasman Room, Plenary Hall, Exhibition Foyer, Waterfront Room, Wellington Room, Drysdale Room, The Showroom, Derwent Room, Portlight Bar, Riviera Room and Executive Boardroom.

The casino floor is recorded factually. Wrest Point publishes “nearly 500 machines” on main and Boardwalk floors, and names Blackjack, Federal Pontoon, Roulette, Federal Baccarat and Big Wheel. Table count is not stated. The roster says gaming floors are 18+.

Access, hours and transparency gaps

Access scoring is mixed. Parking is clearly published as free visitor parking, free parking and free parking for all guests. The location is published as 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart (Sandy Bay) TAS 7005, and the waterfront position is River Derwent foreshore, Sandy Bay. Airport and city-distance facts rely on secondary sources: Hobart Airport at Cambridge is “17 km (11 mi) north-east of the Hobart central business district”, and Sandy Bay is “located immediately south of the Hobart central business district”. Public transport is not published in the roster facts.

Casino operating hours are detailed. Tables are Sun–Thu 5pm–1am and Fri–Sat 5pm–3am. Rapid Roulette is from 1pm, American Roulette from 5pm. Boardwalk machines are Sun–Thu 9am–3am and Fri–Sat 9am–5am. Main-floor machines are Sun–Thu 12 noon–1am. Sports betting and TASkeno are from 9am, and Casino Bar is from 12pm.

Hotel operating details are less complete. Check-in and check-out times are not published in the roster facts. Pet policy is not published. The accessibility cell is partly complete because Deluxe Accessible King is described with auto-access doors and shower rails, and “accessible rooms available on request in the Tower” is published. The loyalty cell records only “Rewards Program” by name, with medium confidence and no details fetched.

The official hotel site is open hotel site.

Wrest Point published parameters
ParameterValueSource quality
Official nameWrest Point Hotel / 'Wrest Point Hobart Hotel & Casino' (footer)Published
Address410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart (Sandy Bay) TAS 7005Published
StateTASPublished
Operator / ownerFederal Group ('a family-owned business operating across the tourism, hotel and gaming industries'); Wrest Point site links Federal Group gift cards; Wikipedia: owner/licence holder Federal Group (Federal Hotels)Medium confidence
Hotels on siteWrest Point (Tower, Water Edge/Riviera wing, Motor Inn)Published
Rooms269Secondary; official site does not print a total
Opening year'Wrest Point is Australia's first ever casino' ... 'born in 1973' (official); 10 February 1973 (Wikipedia)Published plus secondary date
Room categoriesTower: Harbour Suite, Deluxe Harbour King, Deluxe Harbour Twin, Deluxe Accessible King, Deluxe Mountain King, Deluxe Mountain Twin; Water Edge / Riviera wing: Water Edge King, Water Edge Twin; Motor Inn: Motor Inn RoomPublished
Pool'indoor heated pool'Published
SpaSpa/Sauna listed (Discover Tasmania facilities) — no day-spa nameMedium confidence
Gym'Fitness Centre'Published
RestaurantsThe Point Revolving Restaurant; Longhorn Smokehouse; Boardwalk Café; Kwan Ho; Boardwalk BistroPublished
BarsBirdcage Bar; The Green Room Bar; Casino Bar; Boardwalk BarPublished
Theatre / showroomThe Showroom — 'up to 330 guests' (table: theatre 331, cocktail 250, 447 m², tiered floor)Published
Convention capacityTasman Room 691 m²: theatre 1,000, rounds 540, cocktail 800, cabaret 320, classroom 300; combined with Plenary Hall 'theatre-style seating for up to 1650 guests'Published
Waterfront / golfRiver Derwent foreshore, Sandy BayPublished
Airport distanceHobart Airport (Cambridge) '17 km (11 mi) north-east of the Hobart central business district'Secondary
City distanceSandy Bay 'located immediately south of the Hobart central business district'Secondary
Public transportnot publishedNot published
Parking'Free visitor parking' / 'Free parking' / 'free parking for all guests'Published
Check-in / check-outnot publishedNot published
Petsnot publishedNot published
AccessibilityDeluxe Accessible King (auto-access doors, shower rails); 'accessible rooms available on request in the Tower'Published
Casino floor'nearly 500 machines' on main and Boardwalk floors; tables: Blackjack, Federal Pontoon, Roulette, Federal Baccarat, Big Wheel (count not stated)Published
Opening hoursTables Sun–Thu 5pm–1am, Fri–Sat 5pm–3am; Boardwalk machines Sun–Thu 9am–3am, Fri–Sat 9am–5am; main-floor machines Sun–Thu 12 noon–1amPublished
Loyalty'Rewards Program' (name only; details not fetched)Medium confidence
Phone1800 030 611 (free call); [email protected]Published
Official URLhttps://www.wrestpoint.com.au/Published
Awardsnot publishedNot published
Recent changesRedevelopment 2018–2023 (Wikipedia; Traveller: $65m refurbishment — secondary); site footer © 2024; Christmas 2026 / NYE 2026 pages; shows: Suzi Quatro 19 Nov 2026, Lassù 15–30 Jan 2027Medium confidence

Signals

Shortlist it when

Use Wrest Point as a shortlist item if published event capacity, free parking, River Derwent location and a clear spread of room categories matter more than a fully published hotel operations page.

Check another row when

Compare elsewhere if you need venue-published room totals, check-in and check-out times, pet policy, public transport detail or a fully explained loyalty programme before sending a booking request.

Strong events data; several hotel-service fields are not published.

Open the hotel's site

query the index

Dates, headcount and the parameters that matter to you. The desk checks rates and availability with the hotel or a booking partner and replies by email, usually within one working day. No payment details are taken.

The index is free to read and is funded by hotel referrals: if a reader opens a hotel's site from here and books, or asks the query desk to arrange a stay, the publisher receives a commission from the hotel or a booking partner. Scores are computed from published facts, never from commission.

Query received. The desk will email you with rates and availability.
The query did not send. Email [email protected].
Query