QLD profile
Reef Hotel Casino, Cairns
Reef Hotel Casino is the Cairns entry in the index. The hotel count is published by Accor as 128 rooms, while several casino and events figures are not published by the venue. This profile records only the fields in the source file, including the current Accor brand wording and the official Cairns site.

data-art illustration, not a photograph
index / Houses / Reef Hotel Casino (Pullman)
row 08 Open the hotel's site Query this house
Group scores
- Hotel /25Accor publishes 128 rooms, check-in/out, pets and accessibility; room categories are only partly published in the file.
- Leisure /20The rooftop pool and fitness centre are published. Spa is not published, and the wildlife dome closure is secondary.
- Dining and entertainment /20Four restaurants and three bars are named. BAR36 is published, but theatre and convention capacities are not published.
- Access /20Airport wording, Wharf Street location, parking service and hours are published; public transport and parking rates are not published.
- Transparency /15Several operational fields are published, but spa, transport, convention capacity and venue-published casino-floor figures are blank.
Published hotel facts
The official venue name is published as The Reef Hotel Casino. The Accor page title is “The Reef Hotel Casino Cairns - Handwritten Collection”; the roster also records the older “Pullman Reef Hotel Casino” wording and notes that the brand wording should be re-checked before publishing “Pullman”.
The address is 35-41 Wharf Street, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia. Accor lists the hotel as The Reef Hotel Casino, Handwritten Collection, 5 stars, with 128 rooms. The opening record states that the casino licence was granted January 1996 and that Reef Hotel Casino commenced trading on 31st January 1996.
Room categories are partly published. The source lists Superior Room, King, City Views with Spa Bath, and an accessible room. Secondary room-category names also appear in the file, but the hotel’s own published room count is the figure used here. Check-in and check-out are published as “Check-in from 02:00 PM - Check out up to 11:00 AM”. Pets are published as “Pets not allowed”. Accessibility is published as “Wheelchair accessible” and the hotel also lists an accessible room.
The hotel’s official site is open hotel site. For comparison across the ten venues, use the site’s 30-parameter table or the separate hotel parameters page.
Leisure, dining and venue data
The venue publishes a rooftop pool: Accor describes “our stunning rooftop pool”, and the official site shows “Casino Pool Deck”. A spa is not published. The gym is published as “Fitness center” with running, cycling and rowing machines.
Dining is published with four named venues: Tamarind Restaurant, Flinders Bar & Grill, Merchant Artisan Food & Coffee, and Soy Kitchen Street Food. The source file records Tamarind Restaurant as fine dining, Flinders Bar & Grill as casual, and Soy Kitchen Street Food as Asian. Bars are published as BAR36, Lihou Bar, and Casino Sports Arena. BAR36 is also the live-music venue named in the file, with examples of listed shows, but no capacity is published.
Convention capacity is not published in the source file. Casino-floor size is also not published by the venue. The file records a third-party figure of 38 gaming tables as unverified and low confidence, so it is not used as a venue-published parameter. The property is described as “Perfectly positioned alongside Trinity Inlet”. Cairns ZOOM & Wildlife Dome on the roof closed October 2023 by secondary source.
For the dining and entertainment comparison, see dining and entertainment parameters. For the scoring framework, including the five weighted groups, see method and weights.
Access, hours and transparency
Access data is uneven. Accor publishes the airport line as “About 10 minutes from Cairns Airport”. The file also records, by secondary source, that Cairns Airport is 7 kilometres north of the Cairns central business district. City distance is published only as Cairns city centre, Wharf Street. Public transport is not published. Parking is published as an on-site “Car park” service, but rates are not stated.
Casino hours are published as daily 10am–4am, with Anzac Day open from 1pm and Good Friday and Christmas Day closed. The loyalty programme is Reef Rewards. The phone field in the source file is 07 4030 8888 / +61 7 4030 8888.
Queensland’s regulator entry in the state file is the Office of Liquor and Gaming Regulation, Queensland Government. The national rules in the file also matter here: Australia bans online casino play under the Interactive Gambling Act 2001, and these profiles cover physical venues only. Minimum casino entry age is 18 across all states and territories.
Transparency affects the score. Reef Hotel Casino publishes the room count, check-in/out, pets, accessibility, several facilities, named restaurants, bars, opening hours and loyalty programme. It does not publish several fields used by the index, including spa, public transport, convention capacity and a venue-published casino-floor size. The group result can be read against scores by group and the full list of all ten profiles.
| Parameter | Published value | Source quality |
|---|---|---|
| Official name | The Reef Hotel Casino (official site); Accor page title: 'The Reef Hotel Casino Cairns - Handwritten Collection'; roster/Wikipedia name 'Pullman Reef Hotel Casino' | venue / Accor; brand note in file |
| Address | 35-41 Wharf Street, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia | venue |
| State | QLD | roster |
| Operator / owner | Reef Casino Trust (ASX-listed single-purpose trust, listed Feb 1994); 'The Responsible Entity and Operator of The Reef Casino Trust is Reef Corporate Services Limited'; 'The Responsible Entity is owned by Iris Cairns Property Pty Ltd as trustee for the Iris Cairns Property Trust'. Hotel booked via Accor. | published |
| Hotel on site | The Reef Hotel Casino (Accor, Handwritten Collection; 5 stars) | Accor |
| Rooms | 128 | high |
| Opening year | Casino licence granted January 1996; 'Reef Hotel Casino commenced trading on 31st January' 1996 | published |
| Room categories | Superior Room (King, City Views with Spa Bath), Accessible room; third-party: Superior Twin, Deluxe King, Premium Deluxe King, Junior King Suite | medium |
| Pool | 'our stunning rooftop pool'; official site shows 'Casino Pool Deck' | published |
| Spa | not published | blank |
| Gym | 'Fitness center' (running, cycling, rowing machines) | published |
| Restaurants | Tamarind Restaurant; Flinders Bar & Grill; Merchant Artisan Food & Coffee; Soy Kitchen Street Food | published |
| Bars | BAR36 (live music); Lihou Bar; Casino Sports Arena ('Cairns' only true sports bar experience') | published |
| Theatre / showroom | BAR36 live-music venue (shows listed: Killer Queen 30–31 Oct, One Voice 20–22 Nov 2026) — no capacity | published; capacity n/p |
| Convention capacity | not published | blank |
| Waterfront | 'Perfectly positioned alongside Trinity Inlet'; Cairns ZOOM & Wildlife Dome on the roof closed October 2023 (Wikipedia) | venue; closure secondary |
| Airport distance | 'About 10 minutes from Cairns Airport' (Accor); Cairns Airport '7 kilometres (4.3 mi) north of the Cairns central business district' (Wikipedia) | Accor; secondary |
| City distance | Cairns city centre (Wharf Street) | published |
| Public transport | not published | blank |
| Parking | 'Car park' on-site service — rates not stated | published; rates n/p |
| Check-in/out | 'Check-in from 02:00 PM - Check out up to 11:00 AM' | published |
| Pets | 'Pets not allowed' | published |
| Accessibility | 'Wheelchair accessible'; accessible room | published |
| Casino floor | Not published by venue (third-party: 38 gaming tables — unverified) | low confidence; not used as venue-published |
| Opening hours | Casino daily 10am–4am; Anzac Day open from 1pm; Good Friday and Christmas Day closed | published |
| Loyalty | Reef Rewards | published |
| Phone | 07 4030 8888 / +61 7 4030 8888 | published |
| Booking URL | https://all.accor.com/hotel/2901/index.en.shtml | Accor |
| Official URL | https://www.reefcasino.com.au/ | venue |
| Recent changes | Wildlife Dome closed Oct 2023 (Wikipedia); Accor listing under 'Handwritten Collection' brand (seen 2026-10-23) | secondary / observed listing |
Signals
Shortlist it when
Use this profile if a published 128-room Cairns hotel, rooftop pool, named dining venues and a Wharf Street location are the key comparison points.
Check another row when
Check directly before relying on event capacity, spa availability, public transport detail, parking rates or casino-floor figures, because those fields are not published in the source file.
A compact Cairns profile with strong room transparency and several blank capacity fields.