VIC profile
Crown Melbourne
Crown Melbourne is assessed as one Southbank complex with three on-site hotels: Crown Towers Melbourne, Crown Metropol Melbourne and Crown Promenade Melbourne. This profile uses only published or attributed facts from the roster. Where Crown does not publish a parameter, the entry is marked not published and counts against transparency.

data-art illustration, not a photograph
index / Houses / Crown Melbourne
row 01 Open the hotel's site Query this house
Group scores
- Hotel /25Three hotels and room categories are published; room counts rely on secondary sources, and pets and accessibility are not published.
- Leisure /20Pools, Crown Spa, gyms and the Yarra River location are all published for the complex or specific hotels.
- Dining and entertainment /20Restaurants, bars and Palladium capacity are published; most event-space capacities beyond Palladium are not printed.
- Access /20Parking, check-in, station walk and opening hours are published; airport distance is secondary and some rates are not printed.
- Transparency /15Most visitor-facing parameters are published, but room counts, pets, accessibility and some transport or rate details are not.
Profile reading notes
Crown Melbourne is treated as a physical casino-hotel precinct. Australia bans online casino play under the Interactive Gambling Act 2001, so this page does not describe or enable online casino activity. The comparison is about hotel and visitor parameters only.
The complex has three named hotels on site. Crown publishes room categories, pools, spa, gyms, dining and bar listings, parking wording and casino hours. Its own pages do not publish a room count for each hotel in the fetched set; the room total used here is from secondary sources and is marked that way.
For the wider list, see all ten profiles, the site method and weights, and the full 30-parameter table. This profile follows the same five scoring groups: hotel, leisure, dining and entertainment, access, and transparency.
Official hotel information is available at open hotel site.
Hotel and leisure parameters
The hotel group is strong on named accommodation products but weaker on official room-count publication. The roster lists Crown Towers Melbourne, Crown Metropol Melbourne and Crown Promenade Melbourne. The 481, 658 and 465 room figures are from Wikipedia, so the table treats them as secondary rather than venue-published counts.
Room categories are published for all three hotels. Crown Towers lists Deluxe King, Deluxe Twin, Premier King, Premier Twin, Studio, Executive Suite, Executive Club Suite, Premier Suite and Villas. Crown Metropol lists Luxe King, Luxe Twin, City Luxe, Urban Luxe, The Loft and The Apartment. Crown Promenade lists Standard King, Standard Twin, Standard City View King or Twin, Corner King, Studio, Two Bedroom Studio and Suite.
Leisure publication is fuller. Crown Towers publishes a 25-meter heated indoor pool and a split-level gymnasium for hotel guests and Crown Spa Club Members. Crown Metropol publishes an indoor pool on the 27th floor and a gymnasium. Crown Promenade publishes an indoor pool and gym for registered guests, with a maintenance notice whose year is not stated. Crown Spa is published as Crown Spa — treatments by La Prairie.
Dining, entertainment and events
Crown Melbourne publishes a large dining list, with 24 restaurants counted in the roster. The fine-dining list includes Bistro Guillaume, Champagne & Oyster Bar, Conservatory, Ging Thai, Gradi, Kolkata Cricket Club, Koko and Marmont. Casual and quick-bite names are also published, although the roster notes that cuisines are not stated on the main listing page.
Bars are published by category. Cocktail bars include Atrium Bar, Double Up Bar, Lumia Bar, Lumia Rouge, TWR and Velvet Bar. Restaurant bars and sports or entertainment bars are also named. One listed venue name contains gambling language in the official source; it is recorded only as a factual venue name, not as a recommendation.
Entertainment and event data is mixed. Palladium at Crown publishes capacity as up to 2500 standing and 1500 seated, with a pillarless ballroom and seven metre ceilings. Crown LIVE is separately described in deeper facts as a Level 3 West End venue with capacity for up to 1,250 guests, currently under construction and opening in November 2026. Convention spaces are named, but most individual capacities are not printed.
Access, rules and transparency
Access data is partly official and partly secondary. Crown publishes that the complex is less than a five-minute walk to Flinders St Station, and the roster records Flinders Street Station as the public transport point. Melbourne Airport distance is not published by Crown in the fetched pages; the distance used is the secondary statement that Melbourne Airport is approximately 22 kilometres northwest of the Melbourne city centre.
Parking is well described. Crown publishes two major car parks with over 5,000 spaces, cashless operation, valet at the Atrium Entrance on Whiteman Street and a hotel-guest valet figure. The fetched parking page did not print hourly public rates, so those rates are marked not published.
The casino hours are published as open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, with closures on Christmas Day, Good Friday and ANZAC Day from 4am to 12pm. The roster also records smart casual dress, footwear required, 12-hour daily and 36-hour weekly play limits, and carded play required. Under state rules, casino entry is 18+ in Victoria. Related state information sits on the by state page.
Published changes
The roster records regulator and property changes separately from the hotel-score table. In March 2024 the VGCCC was “clearly satisfied that Crown was suitable to operate the Melbourne casino”. On 15 October 2024, the VGCCC fined Crown Melbourne $2 million for 242 self-excluded people gambling between October 2023 and May 2024.
Property changes for the 2025–2026 facts set include a Crown Resorts release dated 22 February 2026 that refers to a $200 million redevelopment, more than 15 new restaurants, bars and casual eateries, and a staged program from mid-2026 through to 2027. Crown LIVE, the former Palms, is listed for relaunch in November 2026 with capacity of 1,250. Bellevue Bar & Terrace is listed for November 2026, Mott 32 for March 2027, and later items are dated into 2027 and 2028.
Those changes are recorded for context only. They do not replace current published parameters unless the source says the venue is open or gives an operative value.
| Parameter | Value | Source quality |
|---|---|---|
| Official name | Crown Melbourne (Crown Melbourne Limited, ACN 006 973 262) | venue/regulator |
| Address | 8 Whiteman Street, Southbank, VIC 3006, Australia | venue |
| State | VIC | venue |
| Operator / owner | Crown Melbourne Limited, “a subsidiary of Crown Resorts Limited”; Crown Resorts “acquired by the Blackstone Group in 2022” | venue/regulator wording |
| Hotels on site | Crown Towers Melbourne; Crown Metropol Melbourne; Crown Promenade Melbourne | venue |
| Rooms | 481; 658; 465; total 1,604 | secondary |
| Opening year | Permanent Southbank complex opened 8 May 1997; temporary World Trade Centre casino 30 June 1994; licence granted 19 November 1993 | secondary |
| Room categories | Published for Crown Towers, Crown Metropol and Crown Promenade | venue |
| Pools | Crown Towers: “25-meter heated pool”; Crown Metropol: indoor pool on the 27th floor; Crown Promenade: indoor pool | venue |
| Spa | Crown Spa — treatments by La Prairie | venue |
| Gym | Crown Towers split-level gymnasium; Crown Metropol and Crown Promenade gymnasium | venue |
| Restaurants | 24 listed | venue |
| Bars | Cocktail, restaurant, sports and entertainment bars listed | venue |
| Theatre / showroom | Palladium at Crown — “Up to 2500 standing”, “1500 seated” | venue |
| Convention capacity | Palladium 1,500 seated / 2,500 standing; other capacities not printed | venue / not published |
| Kids / family | n/p | not published |
| Waterfront / golf | Southbank precinct alongside the Yarra River | venue |
| Airport distance | Melbourne Airport “approximately 22 kilometres (14 mi) northwest of the Melbourne city centre” | secondary |
| City / station distance | “less than a five-minute walk to Flinders St Station” | venue |
| Public transport | Flinders Street Station (walk) | venue |
| Parking | “two major car parks with over 5,000 spaces”; cashless; valet at Atrium Entrance; hourly public rates not printed | venue / partly not published |
| Check-in / check-out | Check-in from 3pm; check-out 11am | venue |
| Pet policy | n/p | not published |
| Accessibility | n/p | not published |
| Casino floor | Venue does not publish size/machine/table counts; Crown Resorts release says 540 gaming tables and over 2,600 electronic gaming machines | venue release / partial |
| Opening hours | “Open 24 hours a day, seven days a week”; closures on Christmas Day, Good Friday and ANZAC Day 4am–12pm | venue |
| Loyalty programme | Crown Rewards | venue |
| Phone | +61 3 9292 8888 (Crown Towers / general); PlaySafe 1800 801 098 | venue |
| Booking URL | https://www.crownhotels.com.au/melbourne | venue |
| Awards / rating | n/p | not published |
Signals
Shortlist it when
Use Crown Melbourne if the comparison needs a large Southbank precinct with three hotel choices, published pools and spa, a long dining list, published parking structure and 24-hour venue hours.
Check another row when
Check alternatives if official room counts, pet policy, accessibility detail, hourly parking rates or fully published event capacities are required before making a request.
High leisure and dining publication; some hotel and access facts are secondary or not published.